Breaking News

EXO, NCT 127, SHINee & WayV Members Unite for SuperM Supergroup via Capitol Records & SM Entertainment

DMT.NEWS #music


EXO, NCT 127, SHINee & WayV Members Unite for SuperM Supergroup via Capitol Records & SM Entertainment

8/8/2019 by Tamar Herman

SM founder Lee Soo-man described the group as “The Avengers of K-pop” during the announcement at Capitol Congress.

SM Entertainment and Capitol Records have partnered to launch a K-pop supergroup featuring members of several SM boy bands this October. Dubbed SuperM, it will feature EXO’s Baekhyun and Kai, NCT 127's Taeyong and Mark, Taemin of SHINee, and Lucas and Ten of WayV. 

SuperM was announced at Capitol Congress on Wednesday (Aug. 7) by Capitol Music Group’s Chairman and CEO Steve Barnett and SM founder Lee Soo-man, who described the group as “The Avengers of K-pop” and said it will focus on performance-based music with songs that highlight choreography. 

A teaser video for the new band was also shown, declaring, “We are the future.” SuperM will make its U.S. debut in October with new music and performances. 

Noting the marketing, promotion and publicity that will support the group, Barnett said that, “SuperM is uniquely positioned to become the highest-profile U.S. debut of a K-pop group in the history of this phenomenon.”

Taemin debuted as a member of SHINee in 2008 and has also released solo music. Kai and Baekhyun have been active in EXO since 2012, and the latter recently released his first solo album. The four other members from NCT 127 and WayV are from units of SM’s boy band brand NCT, and have worked in a variety of different teams and featured on a wide array of releases. 

In the past, SM has formed inter-company groups, such as SM the Ballad and SM the Performance, the latter of which both Kai and Taemin took part in. The company was founded by Lee in 1995 and has been a key player in the K-pop industry for the past two decades. 

NCT 127, which is signed in the U.S. to Capitol, appeared at Capitol Congress prior to the SuperM announcement. A video aired relaying the group’s recent releases and successes, and ended with the newly-released music video for the English version of “Highway to Heaven.” Their May EP, NCT #127 We Are Superhuman, became the second-highest charting position for a Korean artist on the Billboard Top 200 at No. 11 following its release. 


via https://www.DMT.NEWS

Tamar Herman, Khareem Sudlow